Monday - Friday 8 AM - 5 PM

Saturday and Sunday - CLOSED

(717) 346-0549

922 N 3rd Street

Harrisburg, PA 17102

MHAPA Home / About / MHAPA Board of Directors

MHAPA Board of Directors

MHAPA Board of Directors

The MHAPA Board of Directors manages the general business affairs of MHAPA, including but not limited to overseeing staff, maintaining the organization’s fiscal health, and developing and implementing MHAPA’s strategic plan.

Each member of the Board should believe in and support MHAPA’s values and show dedicated professional and/or personal commitment to working for a just, humane, and healthy society that accords all people respect, dignity, choice, and the opportunity to achieve their full potential free from stigma and prejudice. Board members agree to serve a term of three years.

Join the Board

MHAPA aims to maintain a board that is as diverse as the people it serves and that represents voices and perspectives from inside and outside of the mental health, social service, and disability communities. We encourage people committed to MHAPA’s core values and mission to apply to serve on the Board.

We are not accepting Nominations for the Board at this time. Subscribe for notifications about the Nominations period.

Meetings and Time Commitment:

  • MHAPA Board of Directors is a working board that conducts three regularly scheduled meetings per year, including one in-person meeting as part of the annual meeting.
  • Board members can participate in meetings via conference call.
  • Board meetings typically last one to two hours.
  • Committees of the board will meet by conference call as necessary to accomplish goals and responsibilities.

Expectations of Board Members:

  • Attend and participate regularly in meetings.
  • Willing to participate on a standing committee and serve on ad-hoc committees as needed
  • Help communicate and promote the MHAPA mission and programs
  • Become familiar with the MHAPA budget, finances and financial needs.

MHAPA Board of Directors

President/Acting Treasurer

Alex J. Hazzouri
The Advocacy Alliance
846 Jefferson Avenue, P.O. Box 1368
Scranton, PA  18501
ph. 570-558-5580
Board Term: 2018-2021


Laurie Barnett Levine
MHA of Southwestern Pennsylvania
409 Coulter Avenue
Greensburg, PA  15601
ph. 724-771-2387
Board Term: 2018-2021

Executive Committee – At-Large Member

Tony Schweitzer
Bell Socialization Services, Inc.
160 South George Street
York, PA  17401
ph. 717-848-5767 ext. 500 (office)
ph. 717-487-1011 (home)
Board Term: 2019-2022

Sharon Engdahl
25 Spruce Road
Marysville, PA  17053
ph. 717-783-4703
Board Term: 2020-2023

Kayla Knight
111 Elwyn Road
Media, PA  19063
ph. 717-441-4016
Board Term: 2019-2022

Theresa Murphy
Horizon House
1601 Parklane Road
Swarthmore, PA  19081
ph. 484-479-3469
Board Term: 2018-2021

Laura Saccente
Center for Schools and Communities
275 Grandview Avenue, Suite 200
Camp Hill, PA 17011
ph. 717-370-1523
Board Term: 2018-2021

John “Jack” Sodak
Synergy Health Programs
333 South 7th Street
Akron, PA  17501
ph. 717-201-5021
Board Term: 2019-2022

Jane Johnson
Behavioral Health Net
1202 State Street
Erie, PA  16501
ph. 814-454-4530
Board Term: 2021

Rebecca Hover
UPMC Western Behavioral Health at Safe Harbor
1330 West 26th Street
Erie, PA  16508
ph. 814-451-2229
Board Term: 2021

Scroll to Top