Monday - Friday 8 AM - 5 PM

Saturday and Sunday - CLOSED

(717) 346-0549

info@mhapa.org

922 N 3rd Street

Harrisburg, PA 17102

MHAPA Home / Programs / External Advocates

External Advocates

External Advocates are independent advocates who provide assistance and support to individuals receiving services at state operated mental health and juvenile justice facilities.

External Advocates:

  • Help individuals and their families with questions, concerns, and complaints regarding hospital care and treatment.
  • Help resolve concerns and complaints.
  • Work with individuals and others, including local/regional mental health offices and county providers, to facilitate community living.
  • Refer individuals to an attorney or agency that provides legal advocacy.
  • Assist with questions about benefit programs and concerns regarding employment.
  • Provide technical assistance and education regarding rights to individuals, their families, and the hospital staff.
  • Ensure the fundamental rights of the individual receiving services in the state-operated facility.

If you have questions about the External Advocate Program, contact MHAPA by phone at 866-578-3659 or email chammann@mhapa.org.

External Adult Advocates:

Clark Summit State Hospital (CSSH)
Josephine McGuire
jmcguire@mhapa.org

Danville State Hospital (DSH)
Michael Nicholas
mnicholas@mhapa.org

Christine Smith
csmith@mhapa.org

Norristown State Hospital (NSH)
Wendy Quarles
wquarles@mhapa.org

Barbara Dressler
bdressler@mhapa.org

South Mountain Restoration Center (SMRC)
Jamie Hickok
jhickok@mhapa.org

Torrance State Hospital (TSH)
Julia Valenti
jvalenti@mhapa.org

Warren State Hospital (WSH)
Tina Groves
tgroves@mhapa.org

Wernersville State Hospital (WeSH)
Connie Hammann
chammann@mhapa.org

External Youth Advocates:

External Youth Advocates provide advocacy in the following state-operated facilities:

  • Youth Forestry Camps 2 and 3
  • Loysville Youth Development Center and Secure Treatment Center
  • North Central Secure Treatment Unit
  • South Mountain Secure Treatment Unit

To connect with a youth advocate, contact Elaina Ingalls at eingalls@mhapa.org.

Scroll to Top